'I'll Have Another' Retires From Racing - KALB-TV News Channel 5 & CBS 2

'I'll Have Another' Retires From Racing

Posted: Updated:

(AP) - 'I'll Have Another' retires from racing after tendon injury forces the colt out of Belmont Stakes.

On Twitter Friday afternoon, the colt "tweeted" that "the goal was always the Kentucky Derby, everything after has been the cherry on the sundae, guess we are at the end of the bowl. #agoodrun."

Doug O'Neill says the horse has the beginning of an injury and he can't run him.

The Triple Crown hopeful was out at 5:30 this morning -- for a jog and gallop.

He jogged a half mile then galloped an easy mile.

After two surprising victories at the Kentucky Derby and the Preakness, "I'll Have Another" had the chance to become thoroughbred racing's 12th Triple Crown Winner -- the first since 1978.

O'Neill says it's a huge disappointment but not tragic.

The Associated Press reported the horse was pulled due to a swollen left front tendon.

The colt and jockey Mario Gutierrez would have made a run for horse racing's first Triple Crown in 34 years.

Since 1990, only seven horses have won the first two legs of the title.

I'll Have Another was "lightly raced" and competed in only two prep races leading up to the Derby. He competed in the shadow of Bodemeister, who was predicted to win the Kentucky Derby.

The horse's only disappointing appearance was at Saratoga for the Hopeful Stakes in September.

"We realize every day how blessed we are to be around such a brilliant race horse," the horse's trainer, Doug O'Neill, recently said.

The Belmont is considered to be the longest and most grueling of the three Triple Crown races. The horses run one complete lap over 1½ miles. The Derby is 1¼ miles, and the Preakness is 1 and 3/16 miles.

The Triple Crown did not acquire its name until Sir Barton won all three races in 1919. Only 11 horses have won the prestigious title, most recently in 1978, when Affirmed grabbed the title.

Three decades stand out as having multiple Triple Crown winners: the 1930s with three winners, the 1940s with four and the 1970s with three, most notably Secretariat in 1973.

Secretariat also set the world record in 1973, winning the Belmont Stakes by 31 lengths and running the course in 2 minutes, 24 seconds.


Powered by WorldNow
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KALB. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.