NSU's Colin Bear Makes All-Louisiana Baseball Team - KALB-TV News Channel 5 & CBS 2

NSU's Colin Bear Makes All-Louisiana Baseball Team

Posted: Updated:

NATCHITOCHES – Northwestern State senior Colin Bear has been named to the 2012 All-Louisiana Baseball Team, earning first team honors as the designated hitter.

It was the second straight year that he was voted to the team, making it last year as an outfielder. A Louisiana Sports Writers Association voting annually panel picks the team, considering nominees from all four-year college baseball programs in the state

Bear, a senior from Houston, played in 41 games in 2012, getting 14 starts as a pitcher. He played 27 games as an outfielder and designated hitter with an average of .301, two homers and 30 runs batted in.

The four-year starter will finish in the top 10 in several all-time pitching and hitting categories including most hits (ninth, 180), most doubles (seventh, 37), RBI (seventh, 114), and total bases (tenth, 264).

On the mound in his 14 outings, he posted a 3-7 record with a 4.76 earned run average while striking out a team-high 73 batters.

2012 All-Louisiana Baseball

First Team

1B Alex Williams, Louisiana Tech

2B Brock Hebert, Southeastern Louisiana

SS Jeremy Sy, Louisiana-Monroe

3B Thomas Brown III, Grambling

C Jeremy Schaffer, Tulane

OF Raph Rhymes, LSU

OF Mason Katz, LSU

OF Kyle Pearson, LSU-Shreveport

DH Colin Bear, Northwestern State

P Kevin Gausman, LSU

P Stefan Lopez, Southeastern Louisiana

P Jared Mortensen, LSU-Shreveport

P D.J. Ponder, Tulane

Second Team

1B Joey Rapp, Louisiana-Monroe

2B Ryan Gebhardt, Louisiana Tech

SS Austin Nola, LSU

3B Garrett Cannizaro, Tulane

C Ty Ross, LSU

OF Brandon Boudreaux, Tulane

OF Seth Granger, McNeese State

OF Nick Schneeberger, Tulane

DH Derrick Hopkins, Southern

P Nick Goody, LSU

P Aaron Nola, LSU

P Chris Cotton, LSU

P Phil Maton, Louisiana Tech

Hitter of the Year: Raph Rhymes, LSU

Pitcher of the Year: Kevin Gausman, LSU Freshman of the Year: Andro Cutura, Southeastern Louisiana Newcomer of the Year: Greg Friesen, LSU-Shreveport Coach of the Year: Paul Mainieri, LSU

Powered by WorldNow
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KALB. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.