CST Adds 11 More Air Dates for 2012 Hall of Fame Induction Recap - KALB-TV News Channel 5 & CBS 2

CST Adds 11 More Air Dates for 2012 Hall of Fame Induction Recap Show

Posted: Updated:

NATCHITOCHES – Eleven more air dates in August, including four showings in the first five days of the month, have been added by Cox Sports Television for the hour-long showcase providing coverage of the 2012 Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame induction ceremonies.

The Hall of Fame telecast will air Thursday at 4 p.m., Friday at 6 p.m., Saturday at 9 p.m. and Sunday at 1. Seven more showings are slated through Aug. 29, to go with nine which aired in July. The telecast, in association with Louisiana Sports Writers Association productions, features highlights from the induction ceremony held June 23 at the Natchitoches Events Center.

Eight more of the state's top sports stars were inducted at this year's ceremony, presented by Chesapeake Energy. They included football players Roger Carr, Warrick Dunn, Deuce McAllister and Terry Robiskie; basketball legend Aaron James; football coach Pete Richardson, college baseball superstar Dr. Eddy Furniss and jockey Mark Guidry.

Also during the event, LSWA members Bill Bumgarner formerly of the New Orleans Times Picayune and now with Sportsnola.com, and recently retired executive sports editor of The (Baton Rouge) Advocate, Butch Muir, received the Distinguished Service Award in Sports Journalism, while Dr. L. J. Mayeux, the former national president and Chairman of the Board for Ducks Unlimited, received the Dave Dixon Louisiana Sports leadership Award.

This is the 10th consecutive year the event has been televised on a tape-delayed basis by Cox Sports Television and its more than two million homes. CST is currently carried on cable distributors in Texas, Arkansas, Louisiana, Georgia, Florida, Mississippi, Oklahoma and Virginia. For a complete list visit the http://www.coxsportstv.com/affiliates/ website link.

Louisiana cable systems airing the show are in Abbeville, Acadia, Alexandria, Anacoco, Ascension Parish, Assumption, Baker, Bastrop, Baton Rouge, Belle Chasse, Blanchard, Bossier City, Butte Larose, Crowley, Denham Springs, DeRidder, Franklin/Patterson, Grammercy, Houma, Jackson/Clinton, and Jefferson Davis.

Other Louisiana systems with CST are Jonesboro, Kaplan, Lafayette, Lafourche, Lake Charles/Sulphur, Laplace, Larose, Leesville, Livingston, Maringouin, Minden, Morgan City, Natchitoches, New Iberia, New Orleans, Plaquemine, Reserve, Ruston, St. Landry, St. Martinville, St. Mary, St. Tammany, Sulphur, Tangipahoa, Terrebonne and Winnfield.

"The Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame Foundation is grateful to CST for providing highlights of the 2012 Hall of Fame induction," said Lisa Babin, President and CEO of the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame Foundation. "It allows those who could not attend to enjoy this inspiring and entertaining event."

CST's Lyn Rollins and Tammi Arender return to host the ceremonies along with LSWA Past President Kent Lowe, who again produced the broadcast for the LSWA and looks back at memorable moments in past Hall of Fame broadcasts as well.

"The tie between the Louisiana Sports Writers Association and CST is something that is very important to all of us involved with this broadcast which started in 2003," said Lowe, currently the LSWA treasurer. "CST's commitment to quality programs and their belief in what we are trying to do with the Hall of Fame makes our partnership on these telecasts very valuable indeed."

Following the initial nine July telecasts, the show will also air this month on the following 11 dates:

Aug 2 – 4 p.m.

Aug 3 – 6 p.m.

Aug 4 – 9 p.m.

Aug 5 – 1 p.m.

Aug 11 – 9 a.m.; 8:30 p.m.

Aug 15 – 6:30 p.m.

Aug. 19 – Noon

Aug 24 – 6 p.m.

Aug. 25 – 9 p.m.

Aug. 28 – 4 p.m.

Aug. 29 – 6:30 p.m.

*All air times are Central Daylight Time.

Highlighting the telecast will be speeches from all the inductees and presenters like former LSU baseball coach Skip Bertman and former Florida State Coach Bobby Bowden.

For the 10th year, the presenting sponsor of the CST broadcast is the Louisiana agents of State Farm Insurance, a Hall of Fame champion partner. A record 63 Louisiana agents are participating this year to help sponsor the broadcasts.

For more information on CST, visit CoxSportsTV.com. Information on the Louisiana Sports Writers Association is available at TheLSWA.com.

State Farm Insurance Agents helping sponsor this year's broadcast include: Julie Henderson, Mindy Runge (Mansfield); Tray Murray (Coushatta); Glenn Talbert, Mickey Walker, Ted Roberts, Tom Wood, Benee Irwin, Don Ashworth, Ben Tullos, Katrina Thomas (Shreveport); Kary Landry, Jerry Anderson, Tag Rome (Bossier); Val Tucker (Vivian); Buster Constanzi (Haughton); Russ Wood (Jonesville); Buddy Wood and Andy Payne(Many); Laura Wood (Rayville); Ayneka Bruno (Marksville), Trey Coker (Leesville); John Torrent, Jim Pledger, Mike Murphy (Natchitoches); Tommy Chester (Arcadia); Darryl Andrews, Rosa Fields, Karen Henderson, Kenny Smith, Randy Wiggins, Greg Baker, Harvey Scroggs (Alexandria/Pineville).

Bill Barkas, Brian Meaux, J.P. Rice, Anna Jones, Jeremy Jackson, Dustin Gaar (Baton Rouge); Mike Williams (LaPlace); Doug Johnson and Joe Skibinski (Hammond); Robbie Lee (Amite); Cliff Ourso (Donaldsonville); Adam McCarty (Gonzales); Pam Accardo, Robert Cook, Greg Manley, Jeff Leaumont, Monique Gill, Kim Duke (Monroe/West Monroe); Janet Fortenberry (Farmerville); Jean Hollis and Skip Russell (Ruston); Tommy Leoty (Delhi); Shawn Murphy (Jonesboro); Ron Bush (Bastrop); Diane Wroten (Winnsboro); Terry Bertrand (Jennings); Ronnie Johns (Sulphur); Terri Landry, Webb Marcantel, Wayne Hebert, Bubba Montesano, Ted Tolbert, Cordell Dartez (Lafayette area); Beth Anne Naugher, Wayne Leone, Manny Hidalgo, Bart Dornier, Thelma Ceballos Meyers, Bill Bravender, Manie Garcia (New Orleans area).


Powered by WorldNow
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KALB. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.