Corey Simmons Included on 2013 CFPA Watch List - KALB-TV News Channel 5 & CBS 2

Corey Simmons Included on 2013 CFPA Watch List

Posted: Updated:

NATCHITOCHES – Northwestern State junior tight end Corey Simmons, whose debut with the Demons last season earned him honorable mention All-Southland Conference recognition, has made the College Football Performance Awards tight ends watch list for 2013 honors.


Simmons is among 32 tight ends in the Division I Football Championship Subdivision included on the watch list for the 2013 CFPA FCS Tight End Award.


Simmons, a transfer from South Carolina, grabbed 20 passes for 186 yards and a team-best three touchdowns. His reception total was fourth on the Demons' 2012 list although he missed the last two games after suffering a season-ending foot injury in the second half at Central Arkansas.


A 6-foot-5, 251-pound product of Lawrenceville, Ga., and Greater Atlanta Christian High School, Simmons was among three tight ends who played last season and return this year for NSU, along with Chris Dever and Tucker Nims.

"Congratulations to Corey Simmons on earning a spot on the 2013 CFPA Watch List," said CFPA Executive Director Brad Smith. "The son of a former Philadelphia Eagles star, Simmons produced some of the nation's top individual tight end performances in 2012."


Simmons' father Clyde Simmons was a Pro Bowl defensive end for the Eagles during a standout NFL career.

All CFPA recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams.


Currently, there are 111 CFPA recipients listed on official 2013 NFL rosters. More than 130 CFPA recipients have signed professional contracts, and twenty-one have been first-round NFL Draft selections. Past CFPA winners include: Colin Kaepernick (Nevada), Trent Richardson (Alabama), Dez Bryant (Oklahoma State), Whitney Mercilus (Illinois), Von Miller (Texas A&M), Alex Henery (Nebraska), Earl Thomas (Texas), and Patrick Peterson (LSU).


Last season, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel earned the 2012 CFPA National Performer of the Year Trophy, while Harvard quarterback Colton Chapple earned the 2012 CFPA FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy. Multiple award presentations were broadcast live nationally on ESPN, CBS, Fox Sports, Big Ten Network, Pac 12 Network, as well as internationally on BYUtv.

The full list of 2013 recipients, including the 2013 CFPA FCS Awards, will be announced on January 8, 2014.

For more information, visit the Official CFPA Website ( Follow CFPA on Twitter @CFPerformance.

Powered by WorldNow
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KALB. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.