Perez Garners All Conference Academic Honors - KALB-TV News Channel 5 & CBS 2

Perez Garners All Conference Academic Honors

Posted: Updated:

NATCHITOCHES – Northwestern State's sophomore point guard Janelle Perez has been named to the to the 10-member Southland Conference women's basketball All-Academic Team the league office announced Wednesday afternoon.


The El Paso, Texas, native was named to the second team with a 3.50 grade point average as a health and exercise science major. McNeese State's Allison Baggett won player of the year, and Capital One All-District selections If Mora (Incarnate Word), Kosy Mora (Incarnate Word) and Jenny Nash (Nicholls) were named to the first team.


"Janelle is very deserving of this honor. She wants to be successful at whatever she does whether it's in the classroom or on the court," said co-head coach Brooke Stoehr who just wrapped up her second year at the helm.


The 2013 league freshman of the year and 2014 All-Southland Conference honorable mention winner ranked 12th in the league in field goal percentage (.469), sixth in assists per game (4.2), 13th in free throw percentage (.758), eighth in 3-point percentage (.373) and second in assist-to-turnover ratio (1.8).


She was the only Lady Demon to start in every contest in 2013-14.


"Janelle has a drive about her that makes her a special young lady," said Stoehr. "The hard work and dedication she displays on a daily basis is paramount to the success she has had at Northwestern State. She is a great representative of our program."


Perez was a vital piece to the team's run that led it to a Southland Conference Tournament championship and a NCAA Tournament appearance for the first time since 2004.


The 5-2 guard willed the Lady Demons to a win in the semifinals when she scored six straight points with 57 seconds to play to turn a five-point deficit in to one-point win. She added 10 points in the championship game against Stephen F. Austin along with four assists.


She finished the year with an average of 10 points, 4.2 assists and 2.4 rebounds per game.


Lamar and UIW led all schools with two members on the all-academic teams while Abilene Christian, McNeese, Nicholls, Northwestern, Oral Roberts and Sam Houston each had one apiece.


The all-academic teams are voted on by the head coaches, sports information directors and academic advisors from each Southland Conference university. Student-athletes must possess a 3.0 cumulative GPA, have completed one full academic year at the nominating institution and participated in at least 50 percent of the team's competition to qualify for the all-academic squad.

Powered by WorldNow
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KALB. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.