Ag Hall of Distinction honors 4 inductees for 2019

Ceremonies were held March 7 honoring four new inductees into the Louisiana Agriculture Hall of Distinction. Taking part were, on the front row from left, inductees Grady Coburn of Cheneyville; Linda Zaunbrecher of Gueydan; Lee Hamilton Trichel on behalf of her father, the late Jack Hamilton of Lake Providence; and George LaCour of Morganza. On the back row, from left, are Jim Engster, Louisiana Radio Network president; Commissioner of Agriculture Mike Strain; LRN Senior Farm Broadcaster Don Molino; Louisiana Farm Bureau President Ronnie Anderson; and LSU Vice President for Agriculture Bill Richardson. Photo credit: Eye Wander Photo

BATON ROUGE, La. (Louisiana Agriculture Hall of Distinction) - The Louisiana Agriculture Hall of Distinction added four new members for 2019. During ceremonies held March 7 in Baton Rouge, Grady Coburn, Jack Hamilton, George LaCour and Linda Zaunbrecher were inducted for their significant contributions to the state’s agricultural community.

Coburn, of Cheneyville, serves as an independent agricultural consultant and researcher. Over the past 40 years, his insights have helped farmers throughout the state and around the country improve pest management and optimize profits.

Zaunbrecher, a native of Gueydan, was recognized as a pioneer for women serving as leaders in Louisiana agriculture, along with her work in establishing the Louisiana Farm Bureau Foundation. She is only the second woman to be inducted into the Hall of Distinction.

A native of Lake Providence, Hamilton passed away in 2001. He was honored posthumously for his crucial innovations to cotton production and ginning, as well as his role in the formation of the Agricultural Corporation Self-Insurance Fund.

LaCour was honored for his expertise with sustainability and conservation in the cotton industry. He was a driving force in creating the Tri-Parish Gin in Pointe Coupee Parish, and he has traveled as far as China with his outreach work through the Cotton Research and Promotion Program.

The Hall of Distinction honors outstanding contributions to Louisiana agriculture in farming, ranching, forestry, aquaculture, education and agribusiness. The annual ceremony is presented by the Louisiana Radio Network in cooperation with the LSU AgCenter, the Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry, and the Louisiana Farm Bureau Federation. Bayer serves as title sponsor and First South Farm Credit is the presenting sponsor.

Founded in 1974, Louisiana Radio Network provides 63 radio stations throughout Louisiana and parts of Mississippi with news, sports and agri-news. LRN also publishes Tiger Rag, known as the “Bible of LSU Sports” since 1978, the new Tiger Rag Extra magazine, and presents the Louisiana Agriculture Hall of Distinction award. Like LRN on Facebook and follow us on Twitter for breaking news @laradionetwork.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus