Fields wins 6th term in Pineville, 6 to run for Alexandria City Marshal

ALEXANDRIA, La. (KALB) - Qualifying has ended for the March 24 election in Louisiana, and several local elections were decided when only one candidate qualified for some races.

(Image Source: KALB)

One of the key races in Rapides Parish will be for Alexandria City Marshal following the resignation of Terence Grines after his arrest last summer on drug and malfeasance charges.

Among the six qualifiers is Democrat Ricky Rachal, who has been filling the City Marshal seat on an interim basis. Other qualifiers include Edward Butler, also a Democrat, and then Jerome Hopewell, John Ritchie, Daryl Terry and Cornelius White, Jr., all Republicans.

Also in Rapides Parish, Pineville Mayor Clarence Fields was elected to his sixth term when no one qualified to run against him. That makes the fourth time that Fields has been re-elected as an unopposed candidate.

Fields will work with a Pineville City Council that was also re-elected without opposition. Those council members include Mary Bishop Galloway in District 1, Kevin Dorn in District 2, Christy Frederic in District 3, Tom Bouchie in District 4 and Nathan Martin in District 5.

The only other race in Rapides Parish on the ballot was Justice of the Peace for Ward 10, where Mike Byrnes was elected when no one else qualified.

In Avoyelles Parish, Marksville Mayor John Lemoine was elected to another turn when he was the only candidate to qualify. Bunkie’s mayoral race will see three candidates in Bruce Coulon and Jonathan Washington, both Democrats, and Independent candidate Gregg Hudson.

In Grant Parish, the Town of Colfax mayor’s race will have three candidates, Democrats Gerald Hamilton and Caleb Washington, Sr., as well as Republican Lois Knight.

There are several mayoral races in Vernon Parish. In Leesville, incumbent Rick Allen will face challenger Roland Huson. In DeRidder, Misty Clanton faces Mike Harper. And in New Llano, where a number of police officers were laid off earlier this week, incumbent Freddie Boswell faces Denis Jordan. Both are Republicans.

New Llano’s police chief, Danny Hunt, a Democrat, is being challenged by two candidates – Marie Carter and Kel Sagram, both Republicans.

There is also a Chief of Police race in Anacoco with four candidates lined up – Mike Martin, a Democrat, and then Republicans Michael Sanders, Bradley Shores, and Jerry Waller.

Any runoff races for the spring municipal election will be April 28.

For a complete list of races, including a number of City Council or Alderman races, you can visit the website for the Louisiana Secretary of State, or use this link: