Selection process begins for new state superintendent

By  | 

BATON ROUGE, La. (WAFB) - The selection process for a new state superintendent of education will take another step forward.

Source: Max Pixel via MGN

The Louisiana Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, or “BESE,” wrapped up a special meeting discussing Superintendent John White’s resignation, as well as talks about his replacement.

The new Board elected District 3 BESE member Sandy Holloway president, District 4 member Tony Davis vice president, and District 2 member Kira Orange Jones secretary-treasurer for 2020.

BESE is composed of 11 members. Eight members are elected, one from each of the state’s eight BESE districts, and three members are appointed by the governor to represent the state at-large. Board members serve a four-year term that runs concurrently with the term of the governor. Members of the new Board are as follows:

President, District 3 Member - Ms. Sandy Holloway
Vice President, District 4 Member - Mr. Tony Davis
Secretary-Treasurer, District 2 Member - Ms. Kira Orange Jones
District 1 Member - Mr. James Garvey
District 5 Member - Ms. Ashely Ellis
District 6 Member - Mr. Ronnie Morris
District 7 Member - Dr. Holly Boffy
District 8 Member - Mr. Preston Castille
At-Large Member (appointed by Governor) - Dr. Belinda Davis
At-Large Member (appointed by Governor) - Mr. Thomas Roque
At-Large Member (appointed by Governor) - Ms. Doris Voitier

Copyright 2020 WAFB and BESE. All rights reserved.