Chipper, Thome, Vlad and Hoffman going to Cooperstown

By  | 

NEW YORK (AP) The baseball Hall of Fame will be adding six players during its July 29 induction ceremony at Cooperstown, New York.

Third baseman Chipper Jones and first baseman Jim Thome (TOH'-mee) have been elected in their first year of eligibility. Jones was named on 97.2 percent of the ballots after hitting .303 with 468 home runs and 1,623 RBIs in a 19-season career that included 11 straight playoff appearances. Thome was selected by 89.8 percent of voters following a 22-year career that included 612 home runs, 1,699 RBIs and a .554 slugging average.

Outfielder Vladimir Guerrero was elected in his second try, getting 92.9 percent. The nine-time All-Star played half his career with the Montreal Expos and batted .318 with 449 homers and 1,496 RBIs.

Closer Trevor Hoffman received the required number of votes in his third year on the ballot, getting 79.9 percent. He retired with a major league-record 601 saves before the mark was eclipsed by Mariano Rivera.

Mariners designated hitter Edgar Martinez fell 20 votes shy with 70.4 percent, while pitcher Mike Mussina climbed to 63.5 percent.

Roger Clemens and Barry Bonds also came up short in the balloting, although each saw a slight increase.

The four newly-elected players will be joined by pitcher Jack Morris and shortstop Alan Trammell, who were selected by a committee that considers older players and executives.