NCAA sets baseball tournament super regional sites


INDIANAPOLIS (AP) - The NCAA announced the schedule for the eight super regionals in the baseball tournament Tuesday, with overall No. 1 seed UCLA set to open at home against Michigan on Friday night.

The best-of-three super regionals begin either Friday or Saturday. The winners advance to the College World Series in Omaha, Nebraska, with the opener set for June 15.

The Friday-Saturday super regionals (with a third game Sunday if necessary): No. 10 East Carolina (47-16) at No. 7 Louisville (47-16); No. 9 Oklahoma St. (39-19) at No. 8 Texas Tech (42-17); Duke (34-25) at No. 2 Vanderbilt (52-10); and Michigan (44-19) at No. 1 UCLA (51-9).

The Saturday-Sunday super regionals (with a third game Monday if necessary): No. 12 Ole Miss (40-25) at No. 5 Arkansas (44-17); Florida State (39-21) at No. 13 LSU (40-24); Auburn (36-25) at No. 14 North Carolina (45-17); and No 11 Stanford (45-12) at No. 6 Mississippi St. (49-13).

The higher seeded team typically plays at home for super regionals. If the participants have the same seeding, a bid process is used to determine the home team. The NCAA will make sites official Tuesday.

(Copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus